The lost colony (documentary) – Abhkazia

Recently, I saw a documentary again for the second time,  that really captured my attention. Somehow I was really intriged by it, and the movie stayed in the back of my head: it’s The lost colony, by Dutch Filmmaker Astrid Bussink.

DVDhoes De Verloren Kolonie_0

About the documentary:

The oldest primate laboratory in the world, located in the enchanting former Soviet republic of Abkhazia, was virtually destroyed during its struggle for independence from Georgia. But the lab workers refuse to give up their lab and have come up with a new idea to restore it to its former pride and glory. With the help of their renowned former director Professor Lapin they hope to put their institute back on the map. The Lost Colony follows their efforts, made with boundless confidence and unwavering hope, against all odd

See here: the trailer

I think this documentary is really awesome and I would love to see this place in real someday. I must add, that I don’t like experiments on animals, I don’t like this at all.

Though despite the fact, that this happened here, it is a ‘strong’ story somehow and it really fascinated me (doesn’t happen too often). Georgia, and Abkhazia, are definitely on my wishlist now to travel and experience. I have been wanting to go here last year, september, but I didn’t end up going: Because I was too scared to travel alone here.

I bought a map of Georgia, I did some online research about places I wanted to see, and figured out how to fly there. But I didn’t end up booking. I wish I did it, last year. But I didn’t. This is really something that I regret I didn’t do. I’m a coward sometimes, I know.

But I hope, I still go there. I want to visit it still, I would also like to visit Azerbaijan and Armenia; somehow they are intriging me.
I really hope I am brave enough do plan this in my life, before I totally get bankrupt. I really hope I will get a job and save some money so I can do this. And hopefully, my i-love-very-much-far-away-friend wants to come with me. I would love to experience the world with her.

Here a page about the documentary

Here also an article about the institute

Leave a Reply

