When someone….dies

Yesterday, just before midnight, my phone rang. I don’t know why, but when I saw that, and the name of the person who called me, I knew something was wrong. Though I didn’t expect the actual message she told me,the first things that crossed my mind were a break in a relationship, healthproblems, or she got stuck with the car or maybe something was wrong with someone who has heart issues.

But non of those things were true. With what she told me, I was shocked. One of our friends died. (well, honestly I’m confused IF I can call her a friend of mine, it’s not that we were superclose (the friend who called me was close) , but we were in touch.)

She died of cerebral hemorrhage. They found her on the couch in her home, she was already cold. And she was just 28.

She leaves a child behind. She didn’t had a great life, it was full of difficulties and just recently she got a house where she felt good, on a place where she felt good. She was a very strong woman, that kept going and smiling, even with all these difficulties.

And now? Now she’s gone. Just like that.

It’s so hard to grasp. I was shaking all over for an hour or 2. I didn’t sleep so well, needless to say. In my head, I imagine how things went, where she is now,  if she felt anything. My friend told me she had headaches since a couple of days and took aspirine for that and suddenly this.

Now, I’m sitting here and I don’t know what to do. How do you act when someone dies? What do you do? What do you say?

I don’t know what to think about it or what to do. All I know is that it is so weird, and  how life can be suddenly over. Boom. Just like that.

One thought on “When someone….dies

  1. This is shocking, and like you say, such an in-your-face reminder of how quickly life can be taken away. I can imagine your position – thank you for sharing it; it will make me think tonight. I hope you manage some sleep

Leave a Reply

